staff directory button
facebook icon
twitter icon
background design image
background design image
Middle school landing page
Middle school news page
Middle school staff pages
Library and media center
District Athletics website
Frequently asked questions
Bus routes
District school cafe menu
Teacher grade book login portal
Middle school guidance counselor page
Questions and suggestions page
Staff outlook email access
Staff Gmail login

Welcome to Southeast Middle School

Welcome to Southeast Middle School
Home of the Pirates
Grades 6-8
Colors:  Maroon and Gold
 
Main Office Phone:  330-654-1950 
Office hours:  7:30-2:30p
Car rider drop off begins at 7:15 a.m. at the cafeteria doors
Buses release students at 7:29 a.m.
Tardy bell at 7:36 a.m.
End of day 2:25 p.m.
 
Attendance Office Phone:  330-654-1955 
Student Attendance Times:
Tardy 7:37-9:07 a.m.
A.M. Absence 9:08-11:00 a.m.
Full day absence (in after or out before) 11:00 a.m.
P.M. Absence 11:00-12:55 p.m.
Early dismissal 12:55-2:25 p.m. 
 
*Students are encouraged to bring a note for tardies, absences, or early dismissals.  These notes are placed in the yellow bin outside of the office BEFORE the student reports to 1st period.  Thank you for your cooperation. 

From the principal

Parents,

WELCOME BACK!!

Please take time to review the various items available to you through our webpage.  In addition, if you haven't already signed up for the Remind notifications, please do so.  This app is used throughout the school year as a great communication tool.  The links are listed below.  Also, if you are on Twitter, please consider following me at @cnettleton17

Upcoming dates:

August 26 - Open House, 1-3p

August 28 - First day of school 

We thank you for the opportunity to work with your children. Please don’t hesitate to call or email us with any concerns.

Sincerely,

Craig Nettleton, Principal

 


2019-2020 Lists/Documents/Miscellaneous Forms

In this section, you will be able to find copies of all forms sent home throughout the school year.  (This section will be updated throughout the school year).
 
2019-2020 Homeroom List
 
2019-2020 Supply List & Dress Code Policies
 
Emergency Medical Authorization Form (please use BLACK ink only)
 
Library Card Application
 
 

Dates to Remember

2019 - 2020 Important Dates (Additional dates TBA)
August 26 - Open House, 1-3p
August 28 - First day of school
August 30 - 8th grade DC balances and forms due 
September 2 - No School, Labor Day
September 10 - Fall Picture Day, p.m.
September 10 - Instrument Rental Meeting, 7p
September 27 - Early Release (Home on buses)
October 10 - Parent/Teacher Conferences, 2:30-8:30p & DC Parent Meeting, 7p
October 11 - No School, NEOEA Day
November 1 - End of 1st Grading Period; 8th Grade DC Trip (return 11/2)
November 5 - No School, Waiver Day
November 8 - Report cards sent home
November 11 - Veteran's Day Concert, Time TBA
November 21- Picture Make Up Day, a.m.
November 26 - Early Release
November 27-29 - No School, Thanksgiving Break
December 14 - Winter Band & Choir Concert, Times TBA
December 19-20 - Drama Review, Times TBA
December 23-31 - No School, Winter Break
January 1 - No School, Winter Break (resume 1/2)
January 17 - End of 2nd Grading Period
January 20 - No School, Martin Luther King Day
January 24 - Report cards sent home
February 7 - 8th Grade Panoramic Photo & Yearbook Photos, a.m.
February 14 - No School, Waiver Day
February 17 - No School, President's Day
February 27 - Parent Teacher Conferences, 2:30-8:30p / 8th Grade Scheduling 6:00-8:00 @ HS (more info TBA)
February 28 - Early Release
March 13 - Spring Picture Day, p.m.
March 20 - End of 3rd Grading Period
March 27 - Report cards sent home
Aprl 9 - Early Release
April 10-17 - No School, Spring Break
May 7-9 - Drama Spring Musical, Times TBA
May 14 - Band Concert, 7p, HS Cafe
May 20 - Choir Concert, 7p, HS Cafe
May 25 - No School, Memorial Day
May 29 - 8th Grade Promotion Night, 7p
June 2 - Field Day & Recognition Assemblies; Last Day for Students**
June 13 - Report cards mailed home 
 
**Required make-up days, if needed because of  lost instructional time due to closing of school for weather or other calamity exceeding allowable state mandated limits shall be:  June 3 and subsequent weekdays thereafter.   
 

REMIND App

Below are the links for the REMIND App.  These are set up by "Class of".  Therefore, once you log in, it will follow your child throughout their Middle School years.
 
DC Info / Class of 2024
 
8th Grade / Class of 2024
 
7th Grade / Class of 2025 
 
6th Grade / Class of 2026
 
 
 

8th Grade Important Information

2019-2020 Dates to Remember: 
August 30 - DC Trip balances & forms due 
October 10 - DC Parent Meeting, 7p, MS Cafe 
Nov 1-2 - 8th Grade Trip to Washington DC 
Feb 27  - 8th Grade Scheduling Meeting at HS (6:00-8:00p; more info TBA) 
May 29 - 8th Grade Promotion Night 
 
 
Links: 
DC Balance Due & Other Forms (due by Fri, Aug 30th) 
 

Parent Access Letters / Gradebook

For security reasons, Parent Access passwords/registration keys are re-set each fall. 
 
NEW for 2019-2020...
Parent access letters will be passed out at Orientation & Open House this year to parents (students will receive theirs the 2nd week of school).
 
If you would like an additional copy for a second household, please feel free to call (330-654-1950) or e-mail a request to our secretary, Mrs. Witkosky (mwitkosky@sepirates.org). Please include the name and address where you would like the letter sent. This request will take 7-10 days to process.

Staff Contacts

Below is a complete list of middle school staff email titles/addresses:
 
Mr. Craig Nettleton, Principal (cnettleton@sepirates.org)
Mr. Steve Sigworth, Assistant Principal (ssigworth@sepirates.org
Mrs. Amy Dotson, Guidance Counselor (adotson@sepirates.org)
Mrs. Melissa Witkosky, Administrative Assistant/Student Council (mwitkosky@sepirates.org)
Mrs. Heather Kennedy, Attendance ESP (hkennedy@sepirates.org)
 
Mr. Dan Ahrens, 6th Math (dahrens@sepirates.org)
Mr. Michael Backo, Computer (mbacko@sepirates.org)
Miss Ashley Bailey, Art/Art Club (abailey@sepirates.org)
Mr. Adam Ballog, Vocal Music/Drama (aballog@sepirates.org)
Mrs. Stacy Bryant, Intervention Specialist (sbryant@sepirates.org)
Mrs. Kelly Canfield, 7th ELA (kcanfield@sepirates.org) 
Mr. Blake Collins, Intervention Specialist (bcollins@sepirates.org)  
Mrs. Sarah Cup, Foreign Language (scup@sepirates.org)  
Mrs. Alaynna Cyders, 8th History (acyders@sepirates.org)  
Mr. Matt Dillon, 8th ELA (mdillon@sepirates.org)  
Mr. Dean Dunlavy, 6th Science/Girls Basketball (ddunlavy@sepirates.org)  
Mr. Scott Garrett, 7th History/Football & Boys Basketball (sgarrett@sepirates.org)  
Mrs. Christine Hensperger, 6th ELA (chensperger@sepirates.org)  
Mr. Kyle Holler, Physical Education (kholler@sepirates.org)  
Mrs. Melanie Jackson, Instrumental Music (mjackson@sepirates.org)  
Mrs. Kim Kelchner, Intervention Specialist (kkelchner@sepirates.org)  
Miss Hannah Mueller, 6th ELA (hmueller@sepirates.org)   
Mrs. Kim Nelson, 8th Science (knelson@sepirates.org)  
Mrs. Deb Pusin, 7th Math (dpusin@sepirates.org)  
Mr. Mitchell Ray, 6th Social Studies (mray@sepirates.org) 
Mr. Rick Reynolds, 7th ELA/Football & Fishing Club (rreynolds@sepirates.org)
Mrs. Jessica Shaheen, Intervention Specialist (jshaheen@sepirates.org)  
Mrs. Laura Sheets, 8th ELA/PenOhio (lsheets@sepirates.org)
Mr. Mike Stiles, Title I/Football (mstiles@sepirates.org)  
Mrs. Marie Summerville, Intervention Specialist (mciapala@sepirates.org)  
Miss Alexis Swartz, 8th Math (aswartz@sepirates.org)  
Mr. Bradley Vaughan, 7th Science & STEM/Science Club & Fishing Club (bvaughan@sepirates.org)  
Miss Meredith Wooley, 6th-8th Math/Algebra (mwooley@sepirates.org)
 
 

Registration

Southeast Schools (6th – 12th Grade)

New Student Registration

Parents with students in 6th through 12th grade are encouraged to enroll their child(ren) at Southeast Local Schools prior to August 28, 2019.   The middle school office and high school counseling office will be open starting Monday, August 12, 2019, from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. daily.  Due to summer trainings and lunches, we recommend you call to schedule an appointment.  

To enroll a student, you must have the following information for the student:  Certified Birth Certificate (no copies, must be original), Social Security Card, two forms of Proof of Residency (purchase or rental agreement and a utility bill), Immunization Records, and Custody Papers (if applicable).  A copy of the student’s previous report card is helpful, but not required.  If your child receives special services, please bring a copy of the IEP/MFE.  All paperwork must be received before your child may attend school.

For more information, you may contact the middle school secretary, Mrs. Witkosky, 330-654-1950 (or email at mwitkosky@sepirates.org)

Orientation/Open House/First Day

Orientation for 6th graders will be held on Monday, August 19th, starting at 6:00 p.m. in the MS Cafeteria.  Students and parents that are unable to attend are encouraged to attend the district Open House.

District-wide Open House will be held Monday, August 26th, from 1:00-3:00 p.m.  Doors will open at 1:00 p.m. and students may pick up their schedules, meet the teachers, and visit their classrooms. 

No School on Tuesday, August 27th for staff in service meetings.  The first day of school is Wednesday, August 28th.  No new student registrations will be taken on Monday, August 26th or Wednesday, August 28th. (First day of school). 
**Open enrollment forms are available in the office and online and must be approved by the board office before a child may enroll.
 
**No student will be admitted while under suspension or expulsion from another district.  
To enroll your student, it is highly recommended that you call and schedule an appointment with our building secretary, Mrs. Witkosky.
 
Voicemail - 330-654-1950
Email - mwitkosky@sepirates.org

Athletics

Students in 7th grade and up need a physical signed by a physician before he/she can participate in any sport.  Physicals are good for one year from the date of the physical.  
 
On May 28th, the middle school will have a student meeting in the afternoon to discuss eligibility requirements, physical forms, and fall sport availability.  Extra packets of information will be available outside of the office in the display unit, after the meeting. 
 
Physical form, insurance release, emergency medical authorization forms:
 
Fall sports begin July 31st (Football, Soccer, Volleyball, Cross Country)
   Football (rreynolds@sepirates.org, bcollins@sepirates.org, or sgarrett@sepirates.org)
   Volleyball (mhammond@sepirates.org or mwooley@sepirates.org)
   Cross Country (jsutton@sepirates.org or jdillon@sepirates.org)
   Girls Soccer (jnoall@sepirates.org)
   Boys Soccer (cmahrens17@gmail.comcmahrens17@gmail.com
Winter sports begin end of October (Basketball, Wrestling)
   Girls Basketball (ddunlavy@sepirates.org or lmccann@sepirates.org)
   Boys Basketball (sgarrett@sepirates.org or dcraver@sepirates.org)
   Wrestling (kholler@sepirates.org or csondereker@sepirates.org) 
Spring sports begin first week of March  
   Track (mkiskadden@sepirates.org or redunn@sepirates.org) 
 

Help Your School

BOX TOPS COLLECTIONS
At the middle school, we collect Box Tops for Education throughout the school year.  Several contests will be held throughout the year (October, December, February, April).
 
Collection sheets are always available outside of the office. Box Tops should be taped or glued to the forms; no staples please.  In addition, BONUS coupons should be sent in separately, NOT attached to the sheets.  Box Tops can also be sent in, in baggies of 50 per baggie.
 
2019-2020 Goals/Deadlines: 
December, Individual Goal - For each sheet or baggie of 50 Box Tops, the student will receive a box of movie candy.
 
February, Class Goal - For the 1st period class that collects the most Box Tops will receive a breakfast or ice cream party.
 
May, Individual Goal - For each sheet or baggie of 50 Box Tops, the student will receive a box of movie candy. 
 
**The High School also collects ink cartridges and old cell phones. Feel free to send them in with your middle school student and we will send them to the High School.
 
Box Top Flier
 
 
NEEDED SUPPLIES
Supplies are always needed for students and larger projects. Our wish list currently includes the following items:
Pencils, pencils, pencils
Tissues
Hand Sanitizers
Wipes
1-2" binders
Cinch sacks
Baggies (snack, quart, gallon sizes for collecting Box Tops) 
*This is not an all inclusive list and items will be added/deleted as needed. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.
upcoming events
Home   |    Schools    |    Parents & Students    |    Faculty & Staff    |    Board of Education    |    Calendar    |    Forms & Links    |    Contact Us
© 2019. Southeast Local Schools | 8301 Tallmadge Road | Ravenna, OH 44266